The Breakthrough Prize, the largest award in sciences, honored 14 pioneering scientists in the fields of fundamental physics, life sciences, and mathematics with $Three million each. The 2015 Breakthrough Prizes, announced in a press release, were awarded to the following researchers:

· Life Sciences:

C. David Allis – work on regulation of gene expression and chromatin organization, advancing the understanding of diseases ranging from birth defects to cancer

Victor Ambros & Gary Ruvkun – breakthrough work in genetic regulation by microRNAs

Alim Louis Benabid – development of high-frequency deep brain stimulation (DBS), which has revolutionized the treatment of Parkinson’s disease

Jennifer A. Doudna & Emmanuelle Charpentier: path cracking work in bacterial immunity

· Fundamental Physics:

Saul Perlmutter, Brian P. Schmidt, and Adam Riess led a collaboration that unlocked some of the deepest mysteries about the expansion of the universe

· Mathematics:

Simon Donaldson – explore of the relation inbetween stability in algebraic geometry and in global differential geometry

Maxim Kontsevich – making a deep influence in a vast multitude of mathematical disciplines

Jacob Lurie – work on the foundations of higher category theory and derived algebraic geometry, quantum theories, and elliptic cohomology

Terence Tao – numerous breakthrough contributions to harmonic analysis, combinatorics, partial differential equations and analytic number theory

Richard Taylor – numerous breakthrough results in the theory of automorphic forms

The founders of the award—Mark Zuckerberg and Priscilla Chan of Facebook; Sergey Brin of Google; entrepreneur and venture capitalist Yuri Milner; and Anne Wojcicki, one of the founders of the genetics company 23andMe, and Arthur D. Levinson of Apple—envision the award as a way of recognizing scientists as “superheroes” and providing an inspiration for other scientists to pursue their scientific endeavors. Dubbed as “the fresh Nobels” and “Oscars of science,” the awards were introduced to the winners in an off the hook ceremony where scientists mixed with celebrities. 

Congratulations to all the winners! 


Related video: What Does The Phrase A Not B Error Mean?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *